Formula D: Motegi Super Drift


For Immediate Release
April 17, 2016

Motegi Racing Super Drift Challenge Results;

Matt Field Takes the Victory

Long Beach, Calif. – April 17, 2016 – Formula DRIFT presented by BlackVue returned to Long Beach to host the Motegi Racing Super Drift Challenge as part of the 42nd Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.  Matt Field in the Falken Tire / Drift Cave Nissan S14 takes the victory.

The Motegi Racing Super Drift Challenge for the fourth consecutive year brought motorsports action under the lights during the annual Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach with a filled capacity within Turns 9, 10, and 11 of the famous street course.  Select Formula DRIFT drivers competed for a $25,000 prize purse.

“This was a landmark year as the tenth consecutive year for us to bring drifting as part of the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach,” said Jim Liaw, President of Formula DRIFT. “Since 2013, we have been the only Series to compete under the lights in the Grand Prix’s 42-year history and we are happy to make this an ongoing tradition.”

The Top 4 pitted Odi Bakchis, the number qualifier, against Michael Essa, in an exciting battle.  Essa outdrove his opponent to move into the Finals.  Matt Field then faced Dean Kearney and capitalized on his opponent making a mistake to meet Essa in the final battle.  On his lead run Essa spun giving the advantage to Field and ultimately the event victory.

“First off thank you to my crew, they gave me an amazing car.  My parents for always being there and for cheering louder than anyone back home,” said Matt Field, winner of the Motegi Super Drift Challenge. “And my sponsors, Casino M8trix, Lucas Oil, Drift Cave, and of course  to Falken Tires for giving me the grip I need to stick it to the hard charging boys in this Formula DRIFT field.”

The 2016 Formula DRIFT Pro Championship will continue to Round 2: Road to the Championship on May 6-7 at Road Atlanta. For more information visit: and find Formula DRIFT on InstagramFacebook and Twitter. Tune into Formula DRIFT on CBS Sports and check your local listings for airtimes.

For more information contact:

John Pangilinan


Motegi Super Drift Challenge Results

1. Field, Matt

Falken Tire / Driftcave Motorsports Nissan S14


2. Essa, Michael

Loudmouth Exhaust / Achilles Tire BMW M3

2nd Place

3. Bakchis, Aurimas

Feal Suspension / ARK Performance / Falken Tire Hyundai Genesis

3rd Place

4. Kearney, Dean

Oracle Lighting Dodge Viper

4th Place

5. Mohan, Kyle

GT Radial / Mazdatrix Mazda MX5

5th Place

6. Jones, Jeff

DOC Racing Nissan S14

6th Place

7. Litteral, Ryan

Ryan Litteral Racing Nissan S14

7th Place

8. Aasbo, Fredric

Rockstar Energy / Nexen Tire SR by Toyota tC

8th Place

9. Pawlak, Justin

Roush Performance Ford Mustang

9th Place

10. Beechum, Trenton

Falken Tire / Joy Hollywood Ford Mustang

10th Place

11. Heilbrunn, Alex

RTS Monster BMW

11th Place


Entering its thirteenth season, Formula DRIFT is recognized as the leading international drifting championship. Established on the streets of Japan, drifting has evolved into a worldwide competitive sport that challenges each driver’s driving ability and vehicle control. Formula DRIFT provides a forum for professional drifters to compete nationwide for the coveted Formula DRIFT Championship crown. As the first official series in North America, Formula DRIFT has taken competitive motorsports to the extreme, attracting fans and car enthusiasts from all walks of life and establishes itself as the world-wide leader for the Sport. For a competition schedule and ticket information, visit:

Formula Drift X State of Stance SoS X GoPro | Get your HERO Camera at